World Health Organization.—The World Health Organization (WHO) came into being in 1948 and is one of the largest of the Specialized Agencies of the UN, having a total membership of 127. Functioning through the World Health Assembly (an organization composed of an Executive Board, a Secretariat and six regional committees), WHO acts as a directing and co-ordinating authority on international health matters. In addition, it provides advisory and technical services to help countries develop and improve their health services. The 19th World Health Assembly was held in Geneva in May 1966. (See also the item "International Health" in Subsect. 7, Sect. 1, Part I of Chapter VI on Public Health, Welfare and Social Security.)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.—The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was established in 1946 "to contribute to peace and security by promoting collaboration among the nations through education, science and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, for the rule of law, for human rights and fundamental freedoms". Its headquarters is in Paris and total membership at the end of 1966 was 124 states.

The Organization is made up of three principal organs—the General Conference which is the policy-making body, the Executive Board and the Secretariat. Representatives from member states make up the General Conference which meets every two years to consider applications for membership, elect the Executive Board, plan the program and approve the budget for the ensuing two-year period. The 14th Session of the General Conference was held in Paris in October and November 1966. It approved a budget of \$61,500,000, giving priority to the educational needs of the developing countries and to science activities, particularly of the application of science to development; the Canadian assessment rate is 2.97. Further information about the Organization may be obtained from the Canadian National Commission for UNESCO, Ottawa.

International Civil Aviation Organization.—The ICAO, with headquarters in Montreal, is the only Specialized Agency of the UN with headquarters in Canada. It was established to study problems of international civil aviation and the establishment of international standards and regulations for civil aviation. ICAO operations are conducted through its Assembly, Council and Secretariat. Canada has been a member of the 27-nation Council, the governing body of ICAO, since its inception in 1947. The Assembly, consisting of all member states, is convened at least once in a three-year period to decide on policy and vote on the budget. The last Session (15th) of the Assembly was held in Montreal in June and July 1965; a Canadian held the Presidency of the Session.

International Telecommunication Union.—Canada is a member of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), which traces its origin to the International Telegraph Convention of 1865 and the International Radio Telegraph Convention of 1906. The ITU is concerned with the maintenance of international co-operation for the improvement and use of telecommunications of all kinds for the benefit of the general public. It has 129 member countries. The International Telecommunication Convention which was adopted by the Plenipotentiary Conference of the Union at Montreux, Switzerland, in 1965 came into force on Jan. 1, 1967. Canada is represented on the 29-member Administrative Council, the executive organ of the ITU.

World Meteorological Organization.—Canada is a member of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), a Specialized Agency of the UN since 1951 but developed from the International Meteorological Organization founded in 1878. The membership stands at 112. The Fifth World Meteorological Congress was held in Geneva Apr. 3-28, 1967, and approved a program for the development of an improved world-wide meteorological system which was given the name "World Weather Watch". Canada is a member of the Executive Committee of the Organization.

Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization.—The Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) was established in 1959 to promote international co-operation on technical shipping problems and the adoption of the highest standards